IEAA Excellence Awards 2021 winners unveiled

Congratulating the winners, IEAA president Janelle Chapman, said the awards has the organisation “acknowledging the contribution of some talented people in our sector”.

“The IEAA Board wishes to thank each of these outstanding individuals for their input over the past year. It is my pleasure to recognise the leaders who have supported the Australian international education and training sector,” she said.

Emeritus professor in the School of Education at La Trobe University, Betty Leask, was the winner of the Life Membership Award for her outstanding contribution to the international education sector and in particular to the IEAA. She served on the Board of IEAA from 2013-2015.

“I wouldn’t be receiving this award today without the support and the collegiality of many others over the years,” Leask said.

The Distinguished Contribution to International Education Award was presented to Peter Burgess for his leadership in ground-breaking initiatives towards improving international education in Australia. Burgess has been a leading figure in the development of transnational education for over four decades.

The Award for Distinguished Contribution to International Education was also presented to Shanton Chang, whose distinguished contribution to international education in Australia spans three decades and includes notable achievements with the National Liaison Committee for International Students, ISANA International Education Association, and VicWISE.

CEO of English Australia, Brett Blacker was awarded the Excellence in Leadership in International Education Award. Blacker received this award in recognition of his two decade long leadership in international education.

“Over the past 18 months, the ELICOS sector has shown amazing spirit in coming together to face its greatest challenge,” English Australia said.

“We are honoured to work with a sector that has achieved so much and look forward to continuing to do what we can for the fantastic people in ELICOS.”

Thomson Ch’ng received the Tony Adams Rising Star Award in recognition of his outstanding work towards the enhancement of student experience in Australia. He is the founding delegate and National President of the Council of International Students Australia and has been a leading voice in multilateral student engagement in Australasia.

“We continue to see amazing innovations and outstanding contributions from colleagues”

The Best Practice in International Education Award was given to work rights, road safety, and legal rights program International Student Driver Delivery Training Program.

A team from the Deakin Business School (International Students to Responsible Information Systems Professionals) was also recognised for the award. The project has motivated large cohorts of Master of Information Systems students to plan and prepare for professional employment in Australia and overseas, with outstanding results.

Other winners included The Australian Consortium for ‘In-Country’ Indonesian Studies and the Confidence Hackers for Innovation in International Education.

The Award for Professional Commentary which recognises excellence in journalism, social media commentary and/or publications which focus on aspects of the international education sector, was won by Ly Tran.

“After another challenging year for our sector, we continue to see amazing innovations and outstanding contributions from colleagues,” IEAA vice-president Simon Ridings, who presented the awards virtually during the opening plenary of AIEC 2021 said.

“It is important that we take a moment to reflect on these achievements and celebrate their successes together.”

Source Article